Financial Services Future Planning Conference

2020 Financial Services Conference

Get clarity on what’s ahead

Location: Virtual
Start date:

12/9/2020 12:30 PM Eastern

End date:

12/10/2020 5:30 PM Eastern

Services: Audit, Advisory, Consulting, Tax
Industries: Financial Services
Financial Services Future Planning Conference

Register now

 

Event details

Financial services companies have served as essential businesses for their customers throughout the pandemic, but not without unforeseen risks. 
 
Banks and financial services companies need to begin laying the groundwork to manage these potential risks ranging from a possible credit crunch to additional shifts in regulatory environment.  
 
The 2020 Crowe Financial Services Conference offers clarity on what’s ahead. Taking place virtually this year for safety reasons, thought leaders at our annual event will address critical trends and challenges for your industry – and provide insights into addressing them. Hear insight from industry leaders on key issues such as the financial reporting changes, the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act and other updates related to COVID-19, CECL, information security, tax, and more. Each day ends with a little “face” time and Q&A sessions with local partners.

Day 1 agenda

12:30-12:40 p.m. EST – Welcome

Time

Central: 11:30-11:40 a.m.

Mountain: 10:30-10:40 a.m.

Pacific: 9:30-9:40 a.m.

12:40-1:40 p.m. EST – Tax update

This session will provide an overview of CARES Act tax provisions and other COVID-19-related tax developments affecting financial institutions as well as an overview of potential tax implications and planning opportunities that may result from the 2020 election cycle  

Participants in this session should be able to:

  • Identify the impact of recent federal tax law changes
  • Explain tax planning opportunities resulting from these changes
  • Compare how the results of the 2020 election cycle may impact corporate taxation and tax planning opportunities

Speaker

David Thornton

Time

Central: 11:40 a.m.-12:40 p.m.

Mountain: 10:40-11:40 a.m.

Pacific: 9:40-10:40 a.m.

1:40-1:45 p.m. EST – Break

Time

Central: 12:40-12:45 p.m.

Mountain: 11:40-11:45 a.m.

Pacific: 10:40-10:45 a.m.

1:45-2:45 p.m. EST – Information security: Risks and uncertainties

The COVID-19 pandemic required institutions to adjust or fail and now that we are over six months from that initial moment, we can say that many successfully adjusted. Many institutions accomplished in weeks what they would have otherwise planned to do in months or years. This rapid evolution has introduced both risks and opportunities. Information Security is a critical aspect any institution’s strategy to continue to evolve. This session shares an insight of new risks and a practical approach on how to re-engineer Information Security programs to comply with the “New Normal.”

Participants in this session should be able to:

  • Describe risks affecting the industry as a result of working in a remote environment
  • Redefine internal controls and process documentation from a strategic risk perspective

Presenter

Dave McKnight

Time

Central: 12:45-1:45 p.m.

Mountain: 11:45 a.m.-12:45 p.m.

Pacific: 10:45-11:45 a.m.

2:45-3:00 p.m. EST – Break

Time

Central: 1:45-2:00 p.m.

Mountain: 12:45-1:00 p.m.

Pacific: 11:45 a.m.-12:00 p.m.

3:00-4:00 p.m. EST – Allowance for loan losses and CECL

Whether your bank has implemented CECL or remains on the incurred loss model, this session provides an important look at credit characteristics and metrics by industry, how to account for it, and how it impacts the financial statements.

Participants in this session should be able to:

  • Advise their organizations on important credit and loan loss decisions

Presenter

Kevin Brand

Mandi Simpson

Time

Central: 2:00-3:00 p.m.

Mountain: 1:00-2:00 p.m.

Pacific: 12:00-1:00 p.m.

4:00-4:05 p.m. EST – Break

Time

Central: 3:00-3:05 p.m.

Mountain: 2:00-2:05 p.m.

Pacific: 1:00-1:05 p.m.

4:05-5:05 p.m. EST – Branches and service delivery 

Increased use of digital and remote forms of banking and less in-person branch traffic have been continuing trends affecting branches and customer service delivery for a number of years. The pandemic has certainly accelerated these trends, and has given financial institutions the impetus and rationale to more quickly transform their operating models and practices in branches and service delivery. These changes will have significant impacts on customer and revenue growth, real estate, people, costs, and accounting charges. During this session our consultants will provide insights regarding the key considerations for making transformative decisions, give practical suggestions on best practices and pitfalls to avoid, and share examples of what a variety of financial institutions are doing.

Participants in this session will:

  • Better recognize how to address physical branch facilities
  • Identify skills and capabilities needed for staff to be successful going forward
  • Learn about technology capabilities which are enhancing service delivery
  • Anticipate the challenges for people and technology in changing operating models
  • Obtain recommendations for enhancing and transforming strategy and operating models for branches and service delivery

Presenters

Tim Reimink

Tom Grottke

Time

Central: 3:05-4:05 p.m.

Mountain: 2:05-3:05 p.m.

Pacific: 1:05-2:05 p.m.

5:05-5:30 p.m. EST – Q&A with local partners

Time

Central: 4:05-4:30 p.m.

Mountain: 3:05-3:30 p.m.

Pacific: 2:05-2:30 p.m.

Day 2 agenda

12:30-12:40 p.m. EST – Welcome

Time

Central: 11:30-11:40 a.m.

Mountain: 10:30-10:40 a.m.

Pacific: 9:30-9:40 a.m.

12:40-1:40 p.m. EST – Accounting and financial reporting developments in a pandemic environment Pt. 1 

A global pandemic and government actions have created a dynamic and quickly changing financial reporting environment. This session will cover the latest developments from the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB), the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB), the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA), and the federal financial institutions regulators. 

Participants in this session should be able to: 

  • Explain and apply final accounting standards and other changes in financial reporting for financial institutions

Presenters

Sydney Garmong

Mark Shannon

Matt Schell

Chris Moore

Rick Childs

Time

Central: 11:40 a.m.-12:40 p.m.

Mountain: 10:40-11:40 a.m.

Pacific: 9:40-10:40 a.m.

1:40-1:45 p.m. EST – Break

Time

Central: 12:40-12:45 p.m.

Mountain: 11:40-11:45 a.m.

Pacific: 10:40-10:45 a.m.

1:45-2:45 p.m. EST – Red flags for regulators 
This session covers selected current issues examiners are focusing on during examinations, including:
  • Sustainable compliance management systems
  • BSA/AML areas, including suspicious activity monitoring, customer due diligence, and enhanced due diligence
  • Compliance risk assessments

Participants in this session should be able to:

  • Describe major regulatory risks and legislative activities affecting the industry
  • Identify regulatory red flags that could lead to deficiencies for their institutions

Presenters

Jennifer Burke

Joe Durham

Time

Central: 12:45-1:45 p.m.

Mountain: 11:45 a.m.-12:45 p.m.

Pacific: 10:45-11:45 a.m.

2:45-3:00 p.m. EST – Break

Time

Central: 1:45-2:00 p.m.

Mountain: 12:45-1:00 p.m.

Pacific: 11:45 a.m.-12:00 p.m.

3:00-4:00 p.m. EST – Data-driven insights on loan review, CECL, and more

Working with thousands of financial institutions and hosting dozens of peer group meetings, Crowe has collected numerous data points relevant to managing bank profitability and risk. In this session we will share insights on what we can learn from this data in several areas including loan review, CECL/Allowance for Loan Loss, and Compensation.

Participants in this session should be able to: 

  • Apply best practices and identify risk points generated from collected data and analysis 
  • Explain how data can help make more informed decisions

Presenters

Sal Inserra

Chad Kellar

Giulio Camerini

Tom Grottke

Time

Central: 2:00-3:00 p.m.

Mountain: 1:00-2:00 p.m.

Pacific: 12:00-1:00 p.m.

4:00-4:05 p.m. EST – Break

Time

Central: 3:00-3:05 p.m.

Mountain: 2:00-2:05 p.m.

Pacific: 1:00-1:05 p.m.

4:05-5:05 p.m. EST – Accounting and financial reporting developments in a pandemic environment Pt. 2

A global pandemic and government actions have created a dynamic and quickly changing financial reporting environment. This session will cover the latest developments from the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB), the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB), the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA), and the federal financial institutions regulators. 

Participants in this session should be able to: 

  • Explain and apply final accounting standards and other changes in financial reporting for financial institutions

Presenters

Sydney Garmong

Mark Shannon

Matt Schell

Chris Moore

Rick Childs

Time

Central: 3:05-4:05 p.m.

Mountain: 2:05-3:05 p.m.

Pacific: 1:05-2:05 p.m.

5:05-5:30 p.m. EST – Q&A with local partners 

Time

Central: 4:05-4:30 p.m.

Mountain: 3:05-3:30 p.m.

Pacific: 2:05-2:30 p.m.

Continuing professional education

Recommended for up to 8.0 hours: Accounting (3.0) Tax (1.0) Specialized knowledge (4.0)

Who should participate: Financial services company executives and board members, and all financial, risk, and technology professionals

Advance preparation: None

Prerequisites: None

Program level: Basic

Field of study: Various fields of study represented

There is no fee to participate in this event; therefore, there is no cancellation fee.

Additional CPE information

Contact information

For more information, please contact Laura Snyder.

Register now

Registration information must match name of CPE recipient. 
Captcha is required.